In the Land of Impotence:
A Trip to the Killing Fields of Cambodia

published in: Süddeutsche Zeitung, July 2010

One of the latest stories from Cambodia goes like this: Nhem En was recruited at the age of ten by the Khmer Rouge, and worked his way up in Pol Pot's regime to become the right-hand man of Duch, the commandant of the S-21 death camp in Phnom Penh. More than twelve thousand people were tortured and murdered there, including a boy who confessed to belonging to the "CIA" because he thought that "CIA" meant "enough food." Nhem was the photographer of the victims, he fastidiously recorded the events in the camp. In 1979, together with Pol Pot, he fled to Thailand to escape Vietnamese troops, and not until 1997, at the very last minute, did he take advantage of the government's amnesty program. Today he is a vice governor in the north of the country. In this role, he attempted to sell one of Son Sen's bones to the journalist Erich Follath. Son Sen, the last former ally to be murdered on Pol Pot's orders, died in 1998. The price for this exclusive souvenir was standard for Cambodia: one US dollar. Follath rejected the offer.

But Nhem stands to fare better with the Pol Pot memorial that he plans to build in Anlong Veng, the last refuge of the terrorists. He intends to "make the best of the situation and attract tourists" with a museum of reconciliation. He was happy to offer information about his duties in the S-21 to the German TV station ARD, which reported that he even spoke of his past with "a hint of pride."

It's hard to imagine a more deeply skewed perspective. What's worse, Nhem En is by no means an exception; he's the norm. For a fee of three hundred dollars, one of the murdering stooges from the S-21 will pose for TV crews in Choeung Ek, the killing fields just outside the city gates. Victims were brought here after being tortured, and the man shows the camera how he clubbed them with an iron bar as they knelt beside the ditch, because bullets were too expensive.

But even everyday life in Cambodia holds disconcerting surprises for a traveler: for example, the way the travel guides in Angkor Wat joke about the bullet holes in the relief on the south side of the main temple, which depicts the penalties for liars, thieves, and others in the Khmer Empire six hundred or a thousand years ago. The guides might mention, as an aside, that these punishments aren't so different from those used in the S-21. But a traveler hoping for a somber note to accompany this declaration will be disappointed: the tone, the gestures, the facial expressions are all better suited to entertainment news. Any sense of sympathy is absent. This horror is for sale. So the guides on bus trips speak for hours into their microphones about Pol Pot's people and massacres, as if they were talking about last week's flea market. And the art experts in the national museum in Phnom Penh who hustle visitors through the exhibits, speaking to them in an indecipherable English, are disinterested, too. They respond to comments about the lack of important discoveries here or in the temple complex with a smile, or at best with a sort of outrage feigned for the visitors: "War time!" As if the children from next door had just stolen some candy. Anyone who still clings to the faith that mankind has an autonomous, internal sense of right and wrong can lay this belief to rest in Cambodia.


Exterior view of the S-21


The entrance to the S-21 from inside: at left, stands selling drinks and souvenirs

Estimates of the total number of Pol Pot's victims vary somewhat. In less than four years, roughly one in four Cambodians was killed. For a number of reasons, the term "autogenocide," which has unfortunately entered into standard usage, does not prove particularly helpful either in itself or as a means of comparison to other atrocities (always a precarious exercise). Perhaps there's room to argue about when the country was destabilized: as early as 1863, when French colonizers arrived and calculatingly placed the "more reliable" Vietnamese in administrative positions? Or not until 1940, when the German occupation of Paris triggered an immediate invasion by Japanese and Thai troops? In any case, the final blow certainly came from the American bombardments, which extended the reach of the war from neighboring Vietnam without a formal declaration, easily surpassing in density anything the world had ever seen. They were the beginning of the rise to power of Pol Pot, aka Saloth Sar, a failure as a student in Paris who later became a country school teacher. That's not all: because he was deposed by Vietnamese loyal to Moscow, he kept a seat at the UN until 1991, at the behest of the USA and China. From a woven mat in a wooden shed in Thailand, he directed his diplomats through a Manhattan he had never seen, and guided his terror troops through the northern regions of his country, all in his legendary soft voice which can be heard in recordings online. Time after time, those troops won land and lost it again.

Violence can become a social norm, as Wolfgang Sofsky argues. According to the institutions that handle adoption, Cambodian children never cry.

That's nothing new for us. From August 1949 to March 1950, Hannah Arendt traveled through her native country, and she recounts that Germans sent each other postcards of churches and marketplaces that no longer existed. "And the indifference," writes Arendt, "with which they walk through the rubble has its exact counterpart in the absence of mourning for the dead, or in the apathy with which they react, or rather fail to react, to the fate of the refugees in their midst. It is as though the Germans, denied the power to rule the world, had fallen in love with impotence as such."

Traces of this impotence can be seen in the contemporary debates about German foreign policy. Psychologically, we are confronted with the phenomenon of dissociation, which powerfully counteracts our ability to experience and remember the catastrophe. This is what makes it possible to continue living at all. Alexander Kluge and W.G. Sebald have drawn attention to the gaps in accounts of the war. These gaps in memory and perception naturally continue to produce new gaps in our consciousness and ability to act, on all sides: "The position of an anti-Nazi," Arendt continues, "resembled that of a normal person who happens to be thrown into an insane asylum where all the inmates have exactly the same delusion: it becomes difficult under such circumstances to trust one's own senses."

For the victims in Cambodia, the situation must be much the same today with respect to Nhem En and his former colleagues. Except that most people there are victims and perpetrators at the same time, making it difficult to differentiate. Nhem En's colleagues are in every village and every family. Thus impotence develops unnoticed to become a national survival strategy. This may explain the strange experiences that await and frustrate visitors to the S-21 or the killing fields, even in 2010.


One of the main halls of the S-21 in 2010: holes several feet in diameter in the ceiling, many exhibits have been damaged by rain and fallen from the walls


Photo of an unnamed victim on the floor; right, photo and biography of the torture chief Duch


Photographs of the victims taken by Nhem En, only children are shown here


Stefan V. Jensen's photographic work about the gallery of victims of the S-21


Depiction of an everyday scene in the camp by Vann Nath, a painter who survived the camp and now runs a café in Phnom Penh

Although the S-21, originally built as a school named Tuol Sleng after the bitter fruit of a tree, was transformed into a memorial shortly after Pol Pot fled the country, today it lacks any sense of dignity. Bored employees sell tickets and then press tourists to buy brochures or hire a guide, once again with limited English skills. They use the inner courtyard for parking and smoke breaks. Soon we're standing in a torture cell with no barriers to protect it from the visitors who pick up and put down the instruments that were once used to kill. The ceiling directly above us shows spots of blood. On the fourth floor, there are holes several feet in diameter in the roof, and in the summer rain comes in everywhere. You can see where the water has run over the exhibits. Many of the displays have fallen from the walls and lie on the ground. In one corner is a proper portrait of the torture chief Duch, accompanied by a brief biography. Beneath it, a picture of an unnamed victim lies on the floor - without any commentary.

Visitors only learn the most important dates of the revolution, information is not presented systematically. Pol Pot's pathology, which developed to its fullest extent here on this spot, does not even begin to become clear. For instance, most of those murdered in the S-21 weren't opponents of the regime, but rather members of the communist party. And most of the torturers in the S-21 eventually found themselves on the other end of the process. They had to confess their own failings, admitting perhaps that they had not interviewed their prisoners harshly enough, or had killed traitors too quickly, always in order to hurt the regime. Then they themselves were put to death, as well-researched books of David Chandler and others attest. Only seven people survived.

One of the upper floors of the S-21 is completely devoted to the visit of Swedish intellectuals accompanying Gunnar Bergström, who like so many others still supported the revolution in 1978. As ludicrous as it was, the visit was inconsequential in view of larger world political circumstances not discussed here. Finally, at the end of a four-hour tour, one arrives at the disturbing photographs by an unknown European artist, Stefan V. Jensen, which have been hanging on that spot for six years. Jensen re-photographed the images of the victims taken by Nhem En. According to the artist, this doubling is meant to depict souls deprived of release: for if a Buddhist is not buried within seven days in accordance with customs, he can never arrive in his next life. He must wander forever as a spirit between the worlds. Jensen's banal photographic representation seems ambitious at best when viewed next to the painful representational paintings by the survivor Vann Nath; in fact, they are heartless. Apparently the museum is proud just to display the work of a Western artist. Art in the memorial: no problem. The quality doesn't matter.

Finally, at the end of the tour - still inside the death camp - the visitor arrives at a shop selling watches, assorted DVDs, and t-shirts, where a garishly made-up American woman is haggling over the price of postcards that depict the riverside of Phnom Penh, quaint cafés at the mouth of the Mekong. And at the gate the rickshaw drivers immediately pounce: "Killing fields," they shout in our faces, "killing fields, killing fields. Ten dollar. Tomorrow killing fields. Tomorrow. Ten dollar."


Grotesque sights: Many tourists choose to be photographed in front of this collection of skulls.


The tree on which children were beaten to death. In front, recently discovered teeth and bones.


In the section of the memorial open to tourists: scraps of clothing half buried in the ground; a bone, apparently a femur, lies exposed under the tree roots.

What Robert D. Kaplan saw there in 1996 and described as ignorant tourism is evident to us in exaggerated form the next day. In front of a tower where the skulls of hundreds of murdered victims are displayed, a Japanese couple smiles and says "cheese" for a photo - taken by an employee of the memorial, also smiling. The clueless tourist snaps a few more pictures of himself right next to the tower, holding the camera at arm's length, the skulls at eye level giving his grimaces a heroic quality.

We quickly turn away and proceed along the various stations of the small compound. Small signs provide information: here the prisoners were unloaded, here their identities were confirmed, then they were immediately led to the ditch and executed. At the ditches that have been excavated, a sign warns tourists not to walk on the mass graves. A strange idea, I think, but I am surprised by the pieces of clothing lying around. Two or three are half buried in the ground. Then we are standing in front of the tree on which children were beaten to death, some bones and teeth lie there in strange rows as they were found. Under my shoe I discover a bone in the ground, it appears to be a femur.

"In the rainy season," a young museum guide explains to me a few minutes later, "they come to the surface." He looks at me as he explains, "We haven't been able to clear them all out yet." And the display boards confirm this: Two thirds of the mass graves are outside of the area accessible to tourists. They remain untouched even today.

There isn't a religious reason for this neglect. It's one more indication of impotence. In 1950 Hannah Arendt wrote about Germany, "The younger generation seems to be petrified, inarticulate, incapable of consistent thought."

This has been confirmed in recent years by intensified research about the impact of war-related trauma on subsequent generations. This remains a new area of interdisciplinary research. Roughly speaking, however, the impression created is that there are only two ways to actively engage with past: affirmation, which appears natural to Nhem En, or outright refusal. The latter was represented by the student protests in Germany, which counted a new form of terrorism among their consequences. The cause is evident: in the center, where civility and citizenship ought to be anchored, is the catastrophe that prevents all access to the world. This is the explanation for the third and most common response: turning away, wishing for ignorance, the lack of interest shown by survivors in the new reality and everyday concerns that confront them and their children. It is a sort of inner death, as Lizzie Doron has exemplarily demonstrated for survivors of the Holocaust. In many cases, it involves an exchange of roles between parents and children, in which younger family members are forced to take over responsibility for their elders too soon, and the effects extend over many generations. Perhaps the debate initiated in Germany by Michael Winterhoff about the abolition of childhood could also be understood in this context. The sense of homelessness of those born after, which has been described so often in Germany, certainly comes as no surprise. But it impedes any effort to formulate positive goals, as Sebald said, "such as the realization of democracy."

That is why therapy is so important, even if so far its availability in Cambodia has generally been limited to small groups, and offered by foreigners such as the German psychologist Judith Strasser. Strasser has conducted funeral services with the families of victims in Choeung Ek, and has assisted them during the trial of the torture chief Duch. He, at least has proven to be an exception: he expressed regret and begged for forgiveness. Whether or not he receives it, and even though he ultimately pled "innocent," it was at least a small light in the midst of Cambodia's miserably long catastrophe. This month, Duch was sentenced to 35 years in prison.

Copyright Text & photos by Ralf Bönt

English by Kurt Beals



Ralf Bönt, born in 1963, lives in Berlin.

In 2009 he published the bestselling novel
Die Entdeckung des Lichts (The Discovery of Light).



bei buecher.de bestellen

Besuch in der Ohnmacht
Eine Reise zu den Killing Fields in Kambodscha

erschienen in: Süddeutsche Zeitung, Juli 2010

Eine der aktuellen Geschichten aus Kambodscha geht so: Nhem En wurde im Alter von zehn Jahren von den Roten Khmer rekrutiert und stieg im Regime von Pol Pot zur rechten Hand von Duch auf, dem Chef des Todeslagers S-21 in Phnom Penh. Über zwölftausend Menschen wurden dort gefoltert und ermordet, darunter der Junge, der gestand "CIA" zu sein, weil er glaubte "CIA" bedeute "genug Essen". Nhem war der Fotograf der Opfer, der die Vorgänge im Lager penibel dokumentierte. Er floh 1979 mit Pol Pot vor den vietnamesischen Truppen nach Thailand, und erst 1997 sprang er ins Amnestieprogramm der Regierung ab, die letzte Chance nutzend. Heute ist er Vizegouverneur im Norden seines Landes. Als solcher versuchte er, dem Journalisten Erich Follath einen Knochen Son Sens zu verkaufen. Son Sen war der letzte, erst 1998 ermordete Weggefährte Pol Pots. Der Preis für das exklusive Andenken war kambodschanischer Standard: ein US Dollar. Follath ließ ihn abblitzten.

Mehr Erfolg verspricht sich Nhem jedoch mit der Pol Pot Gedenkstätte, die er in Anlong Veng, dem letzten Zufluchtsort der Terroristen, plant. Er möchte "das Beste aus der Situation machen und Touristen anlocken". Mit einem Versöhnungsmuseum. Der ARD gab er gern Auskunft über seine Tätigkeit im S-21, und zwar "fast mit einem Hauch Stolz" in der Stimme, wie der Sender berichtet.

Desorientierter kann man wohl nicht sein. Schlimm, dass Nhem En keineswegs eine Ausnahme ist, sondern der Normalfall. Ein mordender Handlanger aus dem S-21 etwa posiert heute gegen dreihundert Dollar Gage für Fernsehteams in Choeung Ek, den Killing Fields vor den Toren der Stadt. Dorthin brachte man die Menschen nach der Folter, und vor der Kamera zeigt der Mann, wie er seine an der Grube knienden Opfer mit einer Eisenstange erschlug, weil Gewehrkugeln zu teuer waren.

Aber auch im kambodschanischen Alltag erlebt der Reisende tägliche Irritationen: Zum Beispiel wie die Fremdenführer in Angkor Wat ihre Witze über die noch beinahe frischen Einschusslöcher in jenem Relief auf der Südflanke des Haupttempels machen, das die Strafen für Lügner, Diebe und andere darstellt, wie sie im Großreich der Khmer vor sechshundert oder tausend Jahren ausgeübt wurden. Dass sie den Methoden im S-21 gleichen, ist den Führern gern eine Nebenbemerkung wert. Aber auf deren Begleitung durch eine seriöse Geste wartet man vergebens: Mimik, Gestik, Tonfall sind eher, wie man sie vom Boulevard kennt. Anteilnahme erlebt man nicht. Verkauft wird der Schauer. So erzählen die Begleiter in Überlandbussen auch stundenlang über das Bordmikro von Pol Pots Leuten und Massakern, als gehe es um den Flohmarkt der letzten Woche. Und die Kunstexperten im Nationalmuseum in Phnom Penh, die den Besucher mit einem auch beim besten Willen nicht zu verstehenden Englisch durch die Ausstellung scheuchen, sind desinteressiert und garnieren die Bemerkungen vom Fehlen wichtiger Funde hier oder in den Tempelanlagen mit einem Lächeln oder bestenfalls mit für den Besucher gespielter Empörung: "War time!" Als hätten die Kinder von nebenan Süßigkeiten gestohlen. Wer noch Zweifel daran hat, dass der Mensch eine unabhängige innere Instanz für richtig und falsch vollkommen entbehrt, kann sie in Kambodscha begraben.


Das S-21 von außen


Der Eingang des S-21 von innen, linker Hand Stände mit Erfrischungsgetränken und Andenken

Die Opferzahlen der Herrschaft Pol Pots variieren etwas, in den nicht mal vier Jahren kam vermutlich jeder vierte Kambodschaner ums Leben. Aus mehreren Gründen ist der leider gängig gewordene Begriff vom Autogenozid weder an sich noch etwa im stets heiklen Vergleich zu anderen Zivilisationsbrüchen dabei hilfreich. Vielleicht kann man sich darüber streiten, wann das Land destabilisiert wurde: Schon mit der Kolonisierung durch die Franzosen 1863, welche in der Verwaltung gezielt die angeblich zuverlässigeren Vietnamesen einsetzten? Oder erst 1940 durch die deutsche Besatzung von Paris, die den sofortigen Einmarsch der Japaner und Thailänder zur Folge hatte? Endgültig dann aber durch das Bombardement der USA, das ohne Kriegserklärung vom Nachbarstaat ausgedehnt wurde und dabei alles an Massierung in den Schatten stellte, was die Welt zuvor gesehen hatte. Sie spülte den erfolglosen Pariser Studenten und späteren Landschullehrer Pol Pot alias Saloth Sar an die Macht. Nicht genug: Weil er von moskautreuen Vietnamesen gestürzt wurde, hatte Pol Pot einen Sitz bei der UNO bis 1991, die USA und China wollten das so. Von einer Bastmatte im thailändischen Holzverschlag aus dirigierte er mit seiner legendären weichen Stimme, die man via Internet anhören kann, seine Diplomaten durch ein Manhattan, das er nie gesehen hatte, und seine Terrortruppen durch den Norden seiner Heimat. Sie gewannen immer mal Land dazu und verloren es wieder.

Gewalt kann eine soziale Bindungsnorm werden, wie Wolfgang Sofsky argumentiert. Aus den mit Adoptionen befassten Institutionen hört man jedenfalls, dass kambodschanische Kinder niemals weinen.

Das ist uns nicht neu. Von August 1949 bis März 1950 bereiste Hannah Arendt ihre Heimat und erzählte, dass die Deutschen sich Ansichtskarten von Kirchen und Marktplätzen schickten, die es gar nicht mehr gab. "Und die Gleichgültigkeit", schreibt Arendt, "mit der sie sich durch die Trümmer bewegen, findet ihre Entsprechung darin, dass niemand um die Toten trauert. Sie spiegelt sich in der Apathie wieder, mit der sie auf das Schicksal der Flüchtlinge in ihrer Mitte reagieren oder vielmehr nicht reagieren. Es sieht so aus, als ob sich die Deutschen nun, nachdem man ihnen die Weltherrschaft verwehrt hat, in die Ohnmacht verliebt hätten."

Man kann die Ausläufer dieser Ohnmacht bis in die aktuellen Debatten unserer Außenpolitik hinein verfolgen. Psychologisch haben wir es mit dem Phänomen der Dissoziation zu tun, das dem Erleben und Erinnern der Katastrophe vital entgegenwirkt. Es ermöglicht ein Weiterleben überhaupt erst. Alexander Kluge und W.G. Sebald haben einst auf die Lücken in den Kriegserzählungen hingewiesen. Die Lücken in der Erinnerung und der Wahrnehmung erzeugen natürlich immer neue im Bewusstsein und in der Handlungsfähigkeit, und zwar auf allen Seiten: "Die Situation eines Nazi-Gegners," schreibt Hannah Arendt denn auch, "ähnelt dem Schicksal eines normalen Menschen, der zufällig in eine Nervenheilanstalt gesteckt wird, deren Insassen alle an ein und derselben Wahnvorstellung leiden: Unter solchen Umständen wird es schwierig, seiner eigenen Wahrnehmung noch zu trauen."

Den Opfern in Kambodscha wird es mit Nhem En und seinen ehemaligen Kollegen heute so gehen. Allerdings sind die allermeisten sowohl Opfer wie Täter und eine Unterscheidung fällt schwer. Nhem Ens Kollegen sind schließlich in jedem Dorf und jeder Familie. Die Ohnmacht wird so zum unbemerkten nationalen Überlebensprogramm. Sie mag erklären, warum die Irritationen sich bis in den Besuch im S-21 und der Killing Fields fortsetzen und auch im Jahr 2010 zur Herausforderung für den Reisenden anwachsen.


Eine der Haupthallen des S-21 im Jahr 2010: Metergroße Löcher in der Decke, viele Exponate vom Regen beschädigt und von der Wand gefallen.


Das Foto eines namenlosen Opfers auf dem Boden, rechts Folterchef Duch mit Biografie


Von Nhem En hergestellte Fotografien der Opfer, hier ausschließlich Kinder


Stefan V. Jensens fotografische Arbeit über die Opfergalerie des S-21


Darstellung des Lageralltags vom überlebenden Maler Vann Nath, der heute in Phnom Penh ein Cafe betreibt

Zwar wurde das S-21, eine ursprünglich nach der bitteren Frucht eines Baumes Tuol Sleng genannte Schule, schon bald nach Pol Pots Flucht in eine Gedenkstätte umgewandelt. Aber dieser Ort entbehrt heute jede angemessene Würde. Das Personal verkauft gelangweilt Tickets und drängt dann zum Kauf von Broschüren sowie dem Engagement eines Touristenführers mit abermals unzulänglichem Englisch. Den Innenhof nutzt es als Parkplatz und für Rauchpausen. Wir stehen bald in einer von keiner Barriere geschützten Folterzelle und sehen, wie Besucher Instrumente, mit denen getötet wurde, anfassen und wieder hinlegen. An der Decke direkt über uns sind Blutspritzer. Im dritten Stock finden sich in der Decke quadratmetergroße Löcher, und im Sommer regnet es überall herein. Man sieht, wo zuletzt das Wasser über die Exponate lief. Viele Schautafeln stehen am Boden, weil sie von der Wand gefallen sind. In einer Ecke findet sich ein ordentliches Bild vom Folterchef Duch, mit Kurzbiografie daneben, darunter steht am Boden das abgefallene Bild eines namenlosen Opfers, - kommentarlos.

Der Besucher erfährt auch nur die Eckdaten der Revolution, eine systematische Information gibt es nicht. Die Pathologie Pol Pots, die sich an diesem Ort ganz entfaltet hat, wird nicht ansatzweise transparent. So waren die meisten der im S-21 Ermordeten nicht etwa Regimegegner, sondern KP-Kader. Und die meisten der Folterer im S-21 mussten eines Tages die Seiten wechseln. Sie gaben dann ihre Versäumnisse zu, etwa entweder nicht hart genug interviewt oder die Verräter zu schnell getötet zu haben, immer mit der Absicht, dem Regime zu schaden. Dann starben sie selbst, wie man in Büchern nachlesen kann. Nur sieben Menschen überlebten.

Eine der beiden oberen Etagen des S-21 ist vollständig dem aberwitzigen, im Gefüge der nicht dargestellten Weltpolitik aber belanglosen Besuch der schwedischen Intellektuellen um Gunnar Bergström gewidmet, die wie so viele andere die Revolution noch 1978 unterstützten. Sehr störend ist schließlich eine fotografische Arbeit, die ein unbekannter europäischer Künstler gemacht hat, Stefan V. Jensen. Sie steht seit sechs Jahren am Ende des vierstündigen Rundgangs. Jensen lichtete die Fotos der Opfer, die Nhem En damals gemacht hat, abermals ab. Die Doppelung soll nach Auskunft des Künstlers die unerlösten Seelen darstellen, denn: Wird ein Buddhist nicht binnen sieben Tagen ordnungsgemäß bestattet, so kann er nicht in sein nächstes Leben hinüber gelangen. Er muss auf ewig als Geist zwischen den Welten umherwandern. Jensens banale fotografische Darstellung wirkt neben den schmerzhaften gegenständlichen Malereien des Überlebenden Vann Nath bestenfalls ambitioniert, ist tatsächlich aber herzlos. Offenbar ist man bloß stolz, einen westlichen Künstler zu zeigen. Kunst in der Gedenkstätte: kein Problem. Qualität Nebensache.

Am Ende des Rundgangs schließlich - wir sind noch immer innerhalb des Todeslagers - steht der Besucher vor einem Shop mit Uhren, allerlei DVDs und T-Shirts, in dem eine grell geschminkte Amerikanerin um Postkarten der Riverside Phnom Penhs feilscht: hübsche Cafés an der Mündung des Mekong. Und am Tor fallen die Rikschafahrer über uns her. "Killing Fields", werfen sie uns in die Gesichter, "Killing Fields, Killing Fields. Ten Dollar. Tommorrow Killing Fields. Tommorrow. Ten Dollar."


Grotesk: Viele Touristen lassen sich gerne vor den Schädelsammlungen fotografieren


Der Baum, an dem Kinder erschlagen wurden, davor kürzlich gefundene Zähne und Knochen


Im begehbaren Bereich der Gedenkstätte, in den der Besucher geleitet wird: Halb im Boden steckende Kleidungsstücke, unterhalb der Baumwurzel ein flach an der Oberfläche liegender Knochen, vermutlich ein Oberschenkel.

Was Robert D. Kaplan dort 1996 gesehen und als ignoranten Tourismus beschrieben hat, erleben wir am nächsten Tag in einer krass gesteigerten Art. Vor einem Turm mit hunderten ausgestellter Schädel der Ermordeten lässt sich ein japanisches Paar mit Cheese-Lächeln fotografieren - von einem ebenfalls lächelnden Angestellten der Gedenkstätte. Direkt am Turm knipst der Tourist sich unbehelligt noch ein paar Mal selbst mit dem Apparat am ausgestreckten Arm, die Schädel auf Augenhöhe nur wenige Zentimeter entfernt, seine Grimassen dabei heroisch.

Schnell wenden wir uns ab und gehen an den Stationen des kleinen Geländes entlang. Kleine Schilder informieren: Ausladen der Gefangenen, Feststellung der Personalien, dann sofortige Abführung zur Grube und Exekution. Das alles auf ein paar Metern. An den ausgehobenen Gruben bittet ein Schild darum, die ehemaligen Massengräber nicht zu betreten. Kuriose Vorstellung, denke ich, wundere mich aber über die herumliegenden Kleidungsstücke. Zwei oder drei stecken halb im Boden. Dann stehen wir vor dem Baum, an dem die Kinder erschlagen wurden, hier liegen einige Knochen und Zähne seltsam nebeneinander aufgereiht, wie eben gefunden. Da entdecke ich unter meinem Schuh einen in der Erde liegenden Knochen, offenbar ein Oberschenkel.

"In der Regenzeit", erklärt mir ein junger Museumsführer wenige Minuten später, "kommen sie hoch." Er schaut mich an, als er sagt: "Wir haben noch nicht alle wegräumen können." Und auf den Schautafeln sieht man: Zwei Drittel des Massengrabes liegen hinter dem für Touristen zugänglichen Areal. Sie sind bis heute unberührt.

Diese Nachlässigkeit ist mit keiner Religiosität zu erklären. Sie ist ein weiterer Ausweis der Ohmacht. Hannah Arendt schrieb 1950 über Deutschland: "Die jüngere Generation scheint wie versteinert zu sein und ist unfähig, sich auszudrücken oder einen zusammenhängenden Gedanken zu fassen."

Das bestätigt auch die in den letzten Jahren intensivierte Forschung zum Transport kriegsbedingter Traumata über die folgenden Generationen. Noch handelt es sich um ein frisches interdisziplinäres Forschungsgebiet. Grob gesprochen aber hat man den Eindruck, dass nur zwei aktive Haltungen zur Geschichte möglich sind: Affirmation, wie sie Nhem En selbstverständlich ist, oder schroffe Ablehnung. Letzere wurde in Deutschland von den Studentenprotesten vertreten, deren einer Ausläufer neuer Terrorismus war. Man sieht: Im Zentrum, dort wo die zivile Heimat verankert sein müsste, steht die Katastrophe und blockiert den Zugang zu Welt. Dies ist der Grund für die häufigste, die dritte Haltung: Das Wegsehen, den Wunsch nach Unwissen, das Schweigen der Überlebenden, für ihr Desinteresse am neuen Alltag und dem ihrer Kinder. Es handelt sich um einen inneren Tod, wie ihn exemplarisch Lizzie Doron für Überlebende des Holocausts dargestellt hat. In vielen Fällen kommt es zu einer Vertauschung von Eltern- und Kindrollen, indem die Jüngeren zu früh Verantwortung für die Älteren übernehmen müssen, und die Effekte breiten sich über viele Generationen aus. Vielleicht kann man sogar die in Deutschland von Michael Winterhoff geführte Debatte um die Abschaffung der Kindheit in dieser Linie verstehen. Die Heimatlosigkeit der Nachgeborenen, die in Deutschland so oft beschrieben wurde, verwundert jedenfalls nicht. Aber sie verhindert jene positive Zielsetzung, von der Sebald sprach, "im Sinne etwa der Verwirklichung von Demokratie".

Deshalb ist Therapie so wichtig, wie sie in Kambodscha jetzt wenigstens für kleine Gruppen und meist von Ausländern wie der deutschen Psychologin Judith Strasser angeboten wird. Strasser hält mit Angehörigen Trauerfeiern in Choeung Ek ab und steht ihnen während des Prozesses gegen Folterchef Duch bei. Der allerdings fällt tatsächlich aus der Reihe. Er bereute und bat schon mal um Vergebung. Ob sie zur Verfügung steht oder nicht, und auch wenn er am Ende doch auf "unschuldig" plädieren ließ: Es war schon mal ein kleines Licht auf der elend langen Zeitskala der Katastrophe Kambodschas. Das Urteil über Duch wird am 26. Juli verkündet.

(Copyright Text & Fotos: Ralf Bönt)

Ralf Bönt, Jahrgang 1963, ist Physiker und Schriftsteller. Zuletzt erschien 2009 der Bestseller "Die Entdeckung des Lichts" bei Dumont.



bei buecher.de bestellen